Thao (Vicky) Nguyen, associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and faculty member of CISMMS, has been appointed the Marlin U. Zimmerman, Jr. Faculty Scholar.

A five-year appointment, the Marlin U. Zimmerman, Jr. Faculty Scholarship was endowed by the generosity of Marlin U. Zimmerman, Jr. ’44, to support outstanding Whiting School faculty members.

Nguyen’s research encompasses the biomechanics of soft tissues and the mechanics of active polymers and biomaterials. Her group seeks to develop innovative experimental tools and both theoretical and computational models to investigate the fundamental microscale mechanisms of microstructural origins of the behavior of soft adaptive materials.



Congratulations to Mechanical Engineering PhD student Steven Lavenstein, who is advised by Professor Jaafar El-Awady, for winning a Best Poster Award at the 2017 Physical Metallurgy Gordon Research Conference held at the University of New England in Biddeford, ME, July 23-28. The title of his poster was “”High frequency in situ fatigue of nickel-base superalloy microcrystals.”

We would like to welcome Dr. Amin Aramoon, who recently joined the newly created Software Hub (SofHub), within Johns Hopkins University-Center for Integrated Structure Materials Modeling and Simulations (JHU-CISMMS) as the lead software developer/designer in November 2016.

Dr. Aramoon who holds a Bachelors and Master’s degree in Civil Engineering from Sharif University of Technology in Tehran, Iran, has been a member of the Johns Hopkins University community since 2012. Upon his arrival in September 2012, he joined Prof. Jaafar El-Awady’s Computational and Experimental Materials Engineering Laboratory (CEMEL) at JHU as a research assistant working on the characterization of properties of epoxy systems from coarse-grained MD simulations.

As Prof. El-Awady’s graduate student, he was an active member of the Center of Excellence on Integrated Materials Modeling (CEIMM), which was funded by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR). He has since then completed his Master’s and Doctoral degree in Mechanical Engineering with several scientific publications in international peer reviewed journals.

When asked what he liked about his current position, Dr. Aramoon’s immediate response was, designing new software. In addition, he enjoys the opportunity to work with high quality researchers and collaborating with other institutions. He hopes that the SofHub will help create an engaging platform for the industry as well as academic research groups.

We are happy to have Dr. Aramoon as a member of CISMMS. With his knowledge and expertise, he will play an integral role in providing comprehensive computing support to researchers to translate their state-of-the-art research findings and research codes in a more user-friendly high performance platform for computational mechanics.

Image from the White House

On August 2nd, the White house hosted the fifth anniversary of the Materials Genome Initiative (MGI) ushered in by President Obama, June 24, 2011. This event brought together senior Administration officials from the White House, DoD, DOE, NIST, and NSF, as well as experts from the industry, academia and government. The meeting of the minds discussed the importance of the MGI to the nation and what knowledge can be gained from its early successes as well as possible challenges that could impact this initiative. Among the selected invitees to this event is our own Prof. Somnath Ghosh, the Director of CISMMS.

Read more about the Materials Genome Initiative (MGI)

Congratulations to Reza Yaghmaie for winning the ASCE-EMI Student Paper Competition in Dynamics at the Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) Conference, held at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, May 22 to May 25, 2016. Reza Yaghmaie, is a graduate student and member of Prof. Somnath Ghosh’s Computational Mechanics Research Laboratory (CMRL).

Reza Yaghmaie receiving his award from Prof. Ivan Au. Prof. Au is the Professor and Chair of Uncertainty, Reliability and Risk for the Centre for Engineering Dynamics at the University of Liverpool’s School of Engineering, in the UK.

Reza’s winning paper entitled, “Multi-Time Scale Coupled Transient Electro-Magnetic and Structural Dynamics Finite Element Analysis for Antenna Simulations”, describes the wavelet induced multi-time scaling computational model using the Jacobian-Free Newton-Krylov algorithm for modeling functional materials with electro-magneto-mechanical couplings. Of special interest are the micro strip patch antennas used in unmanned air vehicles (UAVs) for military applications and monopole broadcasting antennas which appear in mobile satellite communications.

This paper applies the wavelet transformation based multi-time scaling method (WATMUS) for coupled transient electromagnetic nonlinear dynamical mechanical simulations in the finite element framework to overcome the drawbacks in computational modeling aspects which commonly leads to inadequate designs, hence restricting their widespread engineering applications.

Reza was one out of four student finalists whose papers were accepted for an oral presentation in front of the panel of judges for the prestigious EMI 2016 Dynamics Student Competition. The annual ASCE-EMI conference is considered the premier international conference in the field of Engineering Mechanics.


Congratulations to Jiahao! He was selected as one of the six finalists for the 2016 Robert J. Melosh Medal for his work entitled, “A Novel Physics-Based Finite Element Model for Twinning and Deformation Heterogeneity in Polycrystalline Microstructures“. Jiahao has been a member of Prof. Ghosh’s Computational Mechanics Research Laboratory (CMRL), since 2010 at Ohio State University. As one of the top six finalist, Jiahao Cheng attended the symposium held on April 29, 2016 and although Jiahao Cheng was not awarded the medal this year, he received his finalist certificate and was acknowledged for his excellent contribution to the Robert J. Melosh Medal Competition.

The Robert J. Melosh Medal Competition was inaugurated in 1989 to honor Professor Melosh, a pioneering researcher in finite element methods and former chairman of civil and environmental engineering at Duke. After an initial call for submissions, six papers were selected as finalists, and their student authors were invited to participate in the second phase of the competition, a symposium at Duke University.